Miller, George Kildee Schauer Kilpatrick (MI) Minnick Schiff Kilroy Mitchell Schock Kind Mollohan Schrader King (IA) Moore (KS) Schwartz King (NY) Moore (WI) Scott (GA) Kingston Moran (KS) Scott (VA) Moran (VA) Sensenbrenner Kirk Kirkpatrick (AZ) Murphy (CT) Serrano Murphy (NY) Kissell Sessions Klein (FL) Murphy, Patrick Shadegg Kline (MN) Murphy, Tim Shea-Porter Kosmas Murtha. Sherman Kratovil Myrick Shimkus Nadler (NY) Kucinich Shuler Lamborn Napolitano Shuster Lance Neugebauer Simpson Langevin Nunes Sires Skelton Larsen (WA) Nye Larson (CT) Oberstar Slaughter Smith (NE) Latham Obev LaTourette Smith (NJ) Olson Latta Lee (CA) Olver Smith (TX) Ortiz Smith (WA) Lee (NY) Pallone Snyder Levin Pascrell Souder Lewis (CA) Pastor (AZ) Space Lewis (GA) Paul Speier Linder Paulsen Spratt Lipinski Pavne Stark LoBiondo Pence Stupak Loebsack Perlmutter Sullivan Perriello Lowey Sutton Lucas Peters Taylor Luetkemever Peterson Teague Petri Terry Luián Pingree (ME) Thompson (CA) Lummis Lungren, Daniel Pitts Thompson (MS) Platts Thompson (PA) E. Thornberry Lynch Poe (TX) Mack Polis (CO) Tiahrt Maffei Pomerov Tiberi Posey Price (NC) Maloney Tierney Manzullo Titus Tonko Marchant Putnam Markey (CO) Quigley Towns Radanovich Markey (MA) Tsongas Turner Marshall Rahall Massa Rangel Upton Van Hollen Matheson Rehberg Matsui Reichert Velázquez McCarthy (CA) Reyes Richardson Visclosky McCarthy (NY) Walden McCaul Rodriguez Walz McClintock Roe (TN) Wamp McCollum Rogers (AL) Wasserman McCotter Rogers (KY) Schultz Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher McDermott Waters McGovern Watson McHenry Watt Rooney Ros-Lehtinen Roskam McIntyre Waxman Weiner McKeon McMahon Ross Welch McMorris Rothman (NJ) Westmoreland Rodgers Roybal-Allard Wexler McNerney Royce Whitfield Ruppersberger Wilson (OH) Meek (FL) Meeks (NY) Wilson (SC) Rush Melancon Ryan (OH) Wittman Rvan (WI) Mica Wolf Michaud Woolsey Salazar Miller (FL) Sanchez, Loretta Wu Yarmuth Miller (MI) Sarbanes Scalise Miller (NC) Young (AK) Miller, Garv Schakowsky Young (FL)

## NOT VOTING-18

Barrett (SC)	Culberson	Sánchez, Linda
Bishop (GA)	Higgins	T.
Bonner	Lofgren, Zoe	Schmidt
Capps	McHugh	Sestak
Cardoza	Neal (MA)	Stearns
Conyers	Price (GA)	Tanner

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE
The SPEAKER pro tempore (during the vote). Members are reminded there are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

# □ 1243

So (two-thirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the resolution, as amended, was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

### REMOVAL OF NAME OF MEMBER AS COSPONSOR OF H.R. 3251

Ms. FALLIN. Madam Speaker, I ask unanimous consent to remove my name as a cosponsor for H.R. 3251.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Ms. BALDWIN). Is there objection to the request of the gentlewoman from Oklahoma?

There was no objection.

#### □ 1245

### GENERAL LEAVE

Mr. GORDON of Tennessee. Madam Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that all Members may have 5 legislative days within which to revise and extend their remarks and include extraneous material on the bill, H.R. 3246.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Tennessee?

There was no objection.

### ADVANCED VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY ACT OF 2009

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to House Resolution 745 and rule XVIII, the Chair declares the House in the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill, H.R. 3246.

#### □ 1245

IN THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Accordingly, the House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 3246) to provide for a program of research, development, demonstration and commercial application in vehicle technologies at the Department of Energy, with Mr. Pierluisi in the chair.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The CHAIR. Pursuant to the rule, the bill is considered read the first time.

The gentleman from Tennessee (Mr. GORDON) and the gentleman from Texas (Mr. HALL) each will control 30 minutes.

The Chair recognizes the gentleman from Tennessee.

Mr. GORDON of Tennessee. Mr. Chairman, I yield myself such time as I may consume.

H.R. 3246, the Advanced Vehicle Technology Act of 2009, is authored by the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. PETERS) and co-sponsored by our colleague from Illinois (Mrs. BIGGERT). This legislation provides a comprehensive authorization for long-term, sustained funding of public-private vehicle research, development, demonstration and commercial application activities in the Department of Energy Vehicle Technologies Program.

From passenger cars to heavy duty long-haul trucks, we are all aware of the economic, environmental, and stra-

tegic importance of diversifying our Nation's vehicle sector through innovation in cleaner and more efficient technologies.

However, the current economic situation has made it all the more difficult for companies to invest in the research and technology development to get us there. Department of Energy programs play an invaluable role in filling this critical gap.

This bill provides a critical foundation of support to ensure U.S. leadership in developing and producing the next generation of advanced vehicle technologies. The bill instructs the Secretary to continue support for longer-term higher-risk technologies such as hydrogen, while recognizing the importance of research in areas that can deliver significant improvements in the near term, such as vehicle electrification.

It also makes important investments in areas such as vehicle manufacturing and medium- to heavy-duty vehicles research. It accomplishes this goal through continued partnership with industry and strengthened DOE coordination with other Federal research agencies.

This is a bipartisan bill reported from the Science and Technology Committee which incorporated a number of our Republican colleagues' suggestions. It follows on recommendations of the National Academies of Science and a diverse group of stakeholders and is endorsed by the likes of the Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, GM, Ford, Chrysler, the UAW, Motor and Equipment Manufacturers Association, the National Association of Manufacturers, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, among many others.

After a very productive and bipartisan process in the committee, I am looking forward to a constructive floor debate and passage of this very important bill.

Mr. Chairman, I reserve the balance of my time.

Mr. HALL of Texas. Mr. Chairman, I yield myself such time as I may consume.

I rise today in support of H.R. 3246, the Advanced Vehicle Technology Act of 2009. It has the stated objective to develop technologies that improve efficiency and emissions of vehicles, reduces reliance on petroleum, and supports vehicle manufacturing in the United States. Among other things, it develops cost-effective vehicle technologies for wide-scale utilization, enhanced commercial and passenger vehicle performance, allows for greater consumer choice, shortens technology penetration times, ensures balance and diversity in Federal R&D investment, strengthens public-private R&D partnerships, and probably many other things.

I would like to thank Congressman PETERS for the good job he did working with us and working with the Science