Leach

Levin

Lewis (GA)

Lowey Lucas (KY)

Lipinski

Lofgren

Lynch

Majette

Maloney

Markey

Matsui

Marshall

Matheson

McCollum

McDermott

McGovern

McIntyre

McNulty

Meehan

Meek (FL)

Meeks (NY)

Menendez

Michaud

Millender

Miller (NC)

Mollohan

Moran (VA)

Napolitano

Neal (MA)

Oberstar

Obey

Olver

Ortiz

Owens

Pallone

Pascrell

Pastor

Pavne

Pelosi

Rahall

Moore

Murtha

Nadler

McDonald

Miller, George

McCarthy (MO)

McCarthy (NY)

Lee

Rodriguez

Rothman

Ryan (OH)

Ross

Rush

Sabo

Sanders

Sandlin

Scott (VA)

Serrano

Sherman

Skelton

Snyder

Solis

Spratt

Stark

Stupak

Tanner

Tierney

Turner (TX)

Udall (NM)

Van Hollen

Velazquez

Towns

Upton

Tauscher

Stenholm

Strickland

Slaughter

Schiff

Vitter Walden (OR) Tiberi Wexler Tierney Whitfield Toomey Walsh Wicker Towns Wamp Wilson (NM) Turner (OH) Waters Wilson (SC) Turner (TX) Watt Wolf Udall (NM) Waxman Wu Weiner Upton Wynn Van Hollen Weldon (FL) Young (AK) Weldon (PA) Velazquez Young (FL) Visclosky Weller

NOT VOTING-13

Udall (CO) Davis (IL) Istook Davis, Jo Ann Janklow Watson Emerson Keller Woolsey Rangel Gephardt Hoekstra Reyes

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. SWEENEY) (during the vote). Members are advised there are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

□ 1415

Mr. MENENDEZ changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two-thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended and the resolution was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, the remainder of this series will be conducted as 5minute votes.

MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES ON H.R. 1308, TAX RELIEF, SIM-PLIFICATION, AND EQUITY ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the motion to instruct on H.R. 1308 offered by the gentleman from Maryland (Mr. RUPPERSBERGER) on which the year and navs were ordered.

The Clerk will designate the motion. The Clerk designated the motion.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion to instruct offered by the gentleman from Maryland (Mr. RUPPERSBERGER).

This will be a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 206, nays 213, not voting 15, as follows:

[Roll No. 493] YEAS-206

Abercrombie Boswell Costello Ackerman Boucher Cramer Alexander Boyd Crowley Allen Brady (PA) Cummings Brown (OH) Andrews Davis (AL) Davis (CA) Baca Brown, Corrine Baird Capps Davis (FL) Baldwin Capuano Davis (TN) Ballance Cardin DeFazio Cardoza DeGette Becerra Bell Carson (IN) Delahunt Bereuter Carson (OK) DeLauro Berkley Case Deutsch Berman Castle Dicks Dingell Clay Berry Bishop (GA) Clyburn Doggett Bishop (NY) Conyers Dooley (CA) Blumenauer Doyle Cooper

Eshoo Etheridge Evans Farr Fattah Filner Ford Frank (MA) Frost Gonzalez Gordon Green (TX) Grijalva Gutierrez Hall Harman Hastings (FL) Hill Hinchey Hinojosa Hoeffel Holden Holt Honda Hooley (OR) Hoyer Inslee Israel Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee (TX) Jefferson John Johnson, E. B. Jones (OH) Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (RI) Kildee Kilpatrick Kind Kleczka Kucinich Lampson Langevin Lantos Larsen (WA) Larson (CT)

Aderholt

Akin Bachus

Baker

Bass Beauprez

Biggert

Blunt

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bonner

Boozman

Bradley (NH) Brady (TX)

Brown-Waite

Brown (SC)

Ginny

Burton (IN)

Burgess

Burns

Buver

Camp

Calvert

Cannon

Cantor

Capito

Carter

Chabot

Chocola Coble

Collins

Cole

Cox

Crane

Cubin

Crenshaw

Burr

Bono

Bilirakis

Bishop (UT)

Blackburn

Barrett (SC)

Barton (TX)

Bartlett (MD)

Edwards

Emanuel

Ehlers

Engel

NAYS-213

Peterson (MN)

Pomeroy Price (NC)

Culberson Cunningham Davis, Tom Deal (GA) DeLay DeMint Diaz-Balart L. Diaz-Balart, M. Doolittle Dreier Duncan Dunn Everett Feeney Ferguson Flake Fletcher Foley Forbes Fossella Franks (AZ) Frelinghuvsen Gallegly Garrett (NJ) Gerlach Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gingrey Goode Goodlatte Goss Granger Graves Greenwood Gutknecht Harris Hart Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley

Hensarling

Herger

Hobson

Visclosky Waters Watson Watt Waxman Weiner Wexler Wu Hostettler Hulshof Hvde Isakson Issa Istook Jenkins Johnson (CT) Johnson (IL) Johnson, Sam Jones (NC) Kellv Kennedy (MN) King (IĂ) King (NY) Kingston Kirk Kline Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Latham LaTourette Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Linder LoBiondo Lucas (OK) Manzullo McCotter McCrery McHugh McInnis McKeon Mica Miller (FL) Miller (MI) Miller, Gary Moran (KS) Murphy Musgrave Myrick

Nethercutt

Neugebauer

Ney Northup Norwood Roybal-Allard Nunes Nussle Ruppersberger Osborne Ose Otter Oxley Sanchez, Linda Paul Pearce Sanchez, Loretta Pence Peterson (PA) Schakowsky Pickering Pitts Scott (GA) Platts Pombo Porter Portman Pryce (OH) Putnam Smith (NJ) Quinn Smith (WA) Radanovich Ramstad Rehberg Ballenger Davis (IL) Emerson Taylor (MS) English Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS)

Renzi Reynolds Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Royce Ryan (WI) Ryun (KS) Saxton Schrock Sensenbrenner Sessions Shadegg Shaw Shays Sherwood Shimkus Shuster Simmons Simpson Smith (MI) Smith (TX) Souder Stearns Sullivan NOT VOTING-15

Sweeney Tancredo Tauzin Taylor (NC) Terry Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Tiberi Toomey Turner (OH) Vitter Walden (OR) Walsh Wamp Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller Whitfield Wicker Wilson (NM) Wilson (SC) Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL)

Gephardt Keller Green (WI) Rangel Reyes Davis, Jo Ann Hoekstra Houghton Janklow Udall (CO) Woolsey

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. SWEENEY) (during the vote). Members are advised 2 minutes remain on this vote.

□ 1425

SAXTON, Messrs. TERRY and McINNIS changed their vote from ''yea'' to ''nay.

So the motion to instruct was rejected.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Mr. GREEN of Wisconsin. Mr. Speaker, earlier today I unfortunately missed a vote because I was unavoidably detained elsewhere in the Capitol. Had I been here, I would have voted "no" on rollcall vote 493, the Motion to Instruct Conferees on the Tax Relief, Simplification and Equity Act.

MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES ON H.R. 2555, DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND **SECURITY** PRIATIONS ACT, 2004

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The pending business is the question on the motion to instruct conferees on the bill, H.R. 2555.

The Clerk will designate the motion. The Clerk designated the motion.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. question is on the motion to instruct offered by the gentleman from Minnesota (Mr. SABO) on which the yeas and nays are ordered.

This will be a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 347, nays 74, not voting 13, as follows:

> [Roll No. 494] YEAS-347

> > Bereuter

Berkley

Berman

Bilirakis

Bishop (GA) Bishop (NY)

Berry

Baker Abercrombie Ackerman Baldwin Alexander Ballance Allen Bass Beauprez Andrews Baca Becerra Bell Bachus