POSTAL ADDRESS-ADRESSE POSTALE: UNITED NATIONS, N.Y. 10017

Reference: C.N.392.2020.TREATIES-IV.4 (Depositary Notification)

INTERNATIONAL COVENANT ON CIVIL AND POLITICAL RIGHTS NEW YORK, 16 DECEMBER 1966

PERU: NOTIFICATION UNDER ARTICLE 4 (3)

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, acting in his capacity as depositary, communicates the following:

The above action was effected on 2 September 2020.

(Translation) (Original: Spanish)

7-1-S/122

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations Secretariat and, in accordance with article 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, bearing in mind what is stated in note verbale LA 41 TR/2017/IV-4/Peru/1, dated 1 March 2017, has the honour to report the following:

- On 28 August 2020, Supreme Decree No. 146-2020-PCM was issued, extending from Tuesday 1 September 2020 until Wednesday 30 September 2020, the state of national emergency declared through Supreme Decree No. 044-2020-PCM, temporarily extended through Supreme Decrees No. 051-2020-PCM, No. 064-2020-PCM, No. 075-2020-PCM, No. 083-2020-PCM, No. 094-2020-PCM, No. 116-2020-PCM and No. 135-2020-PCM; and specified or amended through Supreme Decrees No. 045-2020-PCM, No. 046-2020-PCM, No. 051-2020-PCM, No. 053-2020-PCM, No. 057-2020-PCM, No. 058-2020-PCM, No. 061-2020-PCM, No. 063-2020-PCM, No. 064-2020-PCM, No. 068-2020-PCM, No. 072-2020-PCM, No. 083-2020-PCM, No. 094-2020-PCM, No. 116-2020-PCM, No. 129-2020-PCM, No. 135-2020-PCM and No. 139-2020-PCM, due to the serious circumstances affecting the life of the nation as a result of COVID-19.
- During the extension of the state of national emergency, the rights relating to liberty and security of person, inviolability of the home and freedom of assembly and movement in the territory, included in articles 9, 17, 21 and 12 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, remain suspended.
- A mandatory confinement (quarantine) has been ordered in the provinces and departments listed in the table below, where the movement of persons is permitted only for the provision of or access to essential services and goods, and for the provision of services of authorized economic activities.

-2- (IV.4)

Targeted quarantine

Department	Provinces
Cusco	All
Moquegua	All
Puno	All
Tacna	All
Amazonas	Bagua
	Chachapoyas
	Condorcanqui
	Utcubamba
Ancash	Santa
	Casma
	Huaraz
	Huarmey
Apurímac	Abancay
Arequipa	Camaná
	Islay
	Cailloma
	Castilla
Ayacucho	Huamanga
-	Huanta
	Lucanas
	Parinacochas
Cajamarca	Cajamarca
	Jaén
Huancavelica	Huancavelica
	Angaraes
	Tayacaja
Huánuco	Huánuco
	Leoncio Prado
	Puerto Inca
	Humalies
Ica	Ica
	Pisco
	Nasca
	Palpa
Junín	Huancayo
	Satipo
	Chanchamayo
La Libertad	Trujillo
-	Pacasmayo
	Chepén
	Ascope
	Sánchez Carrión
	Virú
Lima	Barranca
	Cañete
	Huaura
	Huaral
Madre de Dios	Tambopata
Pasco	Pasco
	Oxapampa

- 3 - (IV.4)

- Similarly, all persons are under a nationwide mandatory stay-at-home measure from 10 p.m. until 4 a.m, the following day, from Monday to Sunday; with the exception of the Cusco, Moquegua, Puno and Tacna Departments; the provinces of Bagua, Chachapoyas, Condorcanqui and Utcubamba, in the Amazonas Department; the provinces of Santa, Casma, Huaraz and Huarmey, in the Ancash Department; the province of Abancay, in the Apurímac Department: the provinces of Camaná, Islay, Cailloma and Castilla, in the Arequipa Department; the provinces of Huamanga, Huanta, Lucanas and Parinacochas, in the Ayacucho Department; the provinces of Cajamarca and Jaén, in the Cajamarca Department; the provinces of Huancavelica, Angaraes and Tayacaja, in the Huancavelica Department; the provinces of Huánuco, Leoncio Prado, Puerto Inca and Humalíes, in the Huánuco Department; the provinces of Ica, Pisco, Nasca and Palpa, in the Ica Department; the provinces of Huancayo, Satipo and Chanchamayo, in the Junin Department; the provinces of Trujillo, Pacasmayo, Chepén, Ascope, Sánchez Carrión and Virú, in the La Libertad Department; the provinces of Barranca, Cañete, Huaura and Huaral, in the Lima Department; the province of Tambopata, in the Madre de Dios Department; and the provinces of Pasco and Oxapampa, in the Pasco Department; where the mandatory stay-at-home measure is in effect from 8 p.m. until 4 a.m., the following day. On Sundays, the stay-at-home measure is mandatory for all citizens nationwide for the entire day until 4 a.m. the following day.
- The state of emergency has been extended to enable the continued application of the exceptional measures to protect the life and health of the population efficiently, by reducing the possibility of an increase in the number of persons affected by COVID-19.

The Permanent Mission of Peru to the United Nations takes this opportunity to convey to the Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat the renewed assurances of its highest consideration.

New York, 2 September 2020

14 September 2020

DN