Copy your photos & videos to a service outside of Google

You can transfer a copy of the photos, videos, albums, and descriptions saved in your Google Account to a different service.

Important: Photos and videos are not deleted from your Google Account after you transfer them. Learn how to delete your photos & videos, delete a Google service from your account, or delete your Google Account.

Supported photo & video file types

File types that you can transfer include:

  • Photos: .jpg, .png, .gif, .webp, .avif and most RAW files.
  • Videos: .mp4, .mov, .m4v, .mpg, mkv, .mod, .mmv, avi, .divx, .tod, .wmv, .asf, .3gp, .3g2, .m2t, .m2ts, and .mts files.

You can’t transfer unsupported photo and video files.

Step 1: Select Google Photos

Go to the transfer Photos view of Google Takeout or follow the steps below.

  1. Go to your Google Account Dashboard.
  2. Under  “Recently used Google services” or “Other Google services,” scroll to Photos and then tap Transfer data.
  3. Choose the data you want to copy.
    • If you do not wish to transfer all photo albums, tap All photo albums included and then deselect the albums you do not wish to transfer and then tap OK.
  4. Tap Continue.
    • You’ll need to sign in to your Google Account and authorize Takeout.

Step 2: Choose where to transfer a copy of your photos & videos

  1. Below "Move to," select the Down arrow Down arrow.
    • Select the destination where you want to transfer a copy of your photos and videos and then Continue. Follow the steps to link your account and transfer your photos and videos. You’ll need to sign in to your account with the destination service and authorize Google Takeout.  
  2. To start the transfer, tap Agree and continue

Once your photos & videos are copied:

  • You get an email with a link to locate the photos and videos in the new service. Some services may store photos and videos in different locations.
  • Your Google Account will no longer have access to the service where you transferred your photos and videos, but it may still appear in the service’s settings.

Tips:

  • The visibility of the photos and videos you transferred depends on your sharing permissions at the destination service.
  • If you transfer your photos and videos again, a new copy may be created and it may have duplicates from your original transfer.
  • If you cancel a request from Google Takeout, there may be a delay before you can place a new transfer request.

Learn why some photos & videos aren’t transferred

If all of your photos and videos are not transferred, it can be because:

  • Some photos and videos have unsupported file types.
  • The account to which you transferred photos and videos ran out of space.
    • Tip: Transferred photos and videos may require more space than what is shown in Photos.
  • The transfer was canceled before it was complete.
Items & data that aren’t transferred

Not all photo items or data are transferred, including: 

  • Failed videos and broken photos that can’t be displayed
  • Locked Folder content
  • Memories and creations that aren’t saved
  • Video portion of Motion Photos and Live Photos
    • If you want to maintain the video portion within the transfer, you can save your Motion Photos and Live Photos as videos. Tap the photo and then More More and then Save as video
  • Manually edited Metadata, like the comments added to a photo
  • Trash content

Account types that don’t support photo & videos transfers

You can’t currently use this service with:

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu