My photos appear incorrectly

If a photo from your Android device doesn’t appear correctly on photos.google.com, follow the steps below to try and fix the issue.

Before you start

If your photo displays incorrectly on both the web and Android device, try to open it with Files by Google. If the file displays incorrectly in the Files app, it may have been saved incorrectly by the camera app. In this case, Google Photos can't recover the original file.

If your photo displays correctly in the Files app, you can follow the troubleshooting steps below to find the original copy, delete the backed up copy, and re-upload the photo to Google Photos.

Step 1: Confirm it's the same photo

On your Android device:

  1. Open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Select the photo.
  3. To find the "Details" section, from the bottom of the screen, swipe up.
  4. Note the file name of the photo.

On your computer:

  1. Go to photos.google.com.
  2. Select the photo.
  3. On the right, under "Details," find the file name of the photo.
  4. Note the file name.
  5. Confirm it matches exactly to the file name from your Android device.

Step 2: Revert edits

If the photo was edited, it needs to be reverted to the original.

  1. On your Android device, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Select the photo.
  3. At the bottom, tap Edit Edit.
  4. Tap Revert and then Save.
  • If you don't find "Revert," the photo was never edited or edits have already been reverted.

Step 3: Save a backup copy

  1. On your Android device, open the Google Photos app Photos.
  2. Select the photo.
  3. At the bottom, tap Share.
  4. Under "Share to apps," tap More More.
  5. Select your email app.
  6. Email the photo to yourself.
  7. Open the email on your computer.
  8. Download the photo.

Step 4: Delete the photo on your computer

Important: Make sure you’ve downloaded the backup copy from your email to your computer before you delete the photo from photos.google.com.

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. Select the photo.
  3. At the top, click Delete Delete and then Move to trash.
  4. At the top, click Back Back and then Trash Delete.
  5. Select the photo you just deleted.
  6. To permanently delete the photo, at the top, click Delete .

Step 5: Upload the photo again

  1. On your computer, go to photos.google.com.
  2. Confirm that the deleted photo no longer appears.
  3. At the top, select Upload  and then Computer.
  4. Select the backup copy you downloaded earlier and then Open.
  5. Wait a few minutes. 
  6. On your Android device, restart the Photos app.
  7. Confirm the photo displays correctly.

Related resources

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu