How Google Photos protects your location data

Locations are private by default. Google Photos only shares locations if you choose to include them when you create a new conversation or shared album, or when you set up partner sharing.

With Google Photos you can:

  • Check which photos or videos have location info
  • Edit or remove estimated locations
  • Choose to include location data when sharing photos

How locations on your photos work

There are 2 ways for a photo to have location data. When you take a photo or video, the camera app may capture and save location data. Or, Google Photos will try to estimate a location based on machine learning, like landmarks detected in your photos and similarities with your other photos that have locations.

How we protect your privacy

Important: Even if you don’t include a location when you share with other people, they may be able to guess based on landmarks in your photo or video.
  • Location data is never shared with advertisers.
  • Other than for partner sharing, new albums, links, conversations, and other items you share do not include location details by default.

You’re in control

  • You can choose to include location details for photos and videos you share with others.
  • If you don’t want your device to collect location data when you take a photo, turn off location data collection through your camera app.
  • You can control if Photos estimates your location. 
  • You can edit or remove an estimated location or add a location if it’s missing.
  • Estimated locations won't be shared, even when you choose to share location details.

Learn how to manage your photos’ locations.

Related resources

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu